Creating MSIX Packages with RayPack 6.1

Written by Marcin Otorowski, Senior developer and Lead Program Manager of RayPack Studio

Last week I was in London, and had a chance to speak to a few MS guys standing behind #MSIX. Also last week, a new version of RayPack Studio has been released, bringing some improvements over MSIX conversion in the latest revision 6.1. With this post I wanted to make a quick walkthrough of going from so-called legacy installations (traditionally all setup.exe and alike, but recently the Windows Installer format has been counted to that group) to the new, modern and native Windows-10 way of installing and servicing apps.

There is a way to make all of this happen on a virtual machine via the PackBot module, but for the sake of simplicity I am going to go the easy way, with local repackaging. I am going to to the following:

1. Set up my environment
2. Make the first snapshot
3. Install and configure Firefox
4. Make the second snapshot
5. Compare the snapshots, create RCP (RayPack Capture Project)
6. Clean-up the project, remove obsolete resources and OS noise
7. Set-up the signing facility
8. Build and run MSIX file

After starting RayPack, go to FILE > New > Repackaging to open the Repackaging wizard:

New MSIX project

Pick the Firefox Installer, and adjust the required fields as needed. I always use the Advanced mode (see the picture below) which enables all screens and settings:

MSIX Project settings

The snapshotting and installation is pretty straightforward – simple select the installer and go next until reaching the following page:

MSIX repackaging

The defaults should be just fine, in most cases enabling only C drive, HKLM and HKCU registry keys would be sufficient. The aggressive list is by default disabled, but in my opinion you should go with it, as it makes the subsequent clean-up easier.

You should avoid enabling permissions scanning. This may be useful for some IT Pros, but in case of repackaging to MSIX only takes system resources and does not bring any value-added.

After all, proceed to the next screen until the setup is started.

MSIX installation process

The installation does not require any special attention. After it you can start Firefox, and configure a few things like:

  • Disable auto-updates
  • Disable Maintenance Service
  • Skip first-run UI
  • Set up the default home page
    …and so on

When ready, make a second snapshot. After a while and accepting summary pages, the repackaged project will be open. The project itself is not in any particular format (MSI nor MSIX) but has a loose file structure, with an XML definition that links the resources and meta-data. From this project, it is possible to go to MSI, MSIX, App-V and a few other formats RayPack offers. I personally find it useful to store the project for some further reference, as sometimes cleaning-up to many resources requires rebuilding – which is easy if you have your source project!

MSIX Project overview

This is the place where a final clean-up and review should take place. Make sure the values (like Product name, Version and Manufacturer) are correct, and take a look at the numbers in the Project overview to have some initial feeling about the content of the package.

There are at least three views which should be of interest now:

  • Files and folders
  • Registry
  • Shortcuts

Depending on how many exclusion lists have been selected before, you may get a clean state right away or a state that requires some manual intervention. If you see a resource which does not belong to the repackaged app (for example noise from OS, Windows Updates, antivirus etc.) just exclude it by right clicking the item and selecting the right option.

As a side note – this clean-up step used to be much more important for the MSI packaging or any other packaging to a so-called “fat-client”. Leaving up unnecessary resources could lead to some serious conflicts later on. Fortunately, since the MSIX format operates on a virtualized file system, leaving up too many resources would not have that big impact, except of polluting the package with unnecessary resources (which means increase in size) and any DLL or other resource conflicts will be only scoped to the current package, leaving the system intact. Still, making sure that the MSIX package is clean and as light as possible is still important, and I would not underestimate the importance of this step.

Now, back to Firefox, for this repackaging, I haven’t changed anything in the Maintenance Service from Mozilla. This is why you should simply exclude it from RCP, before the final conversion takes place.

MSIX project content

Repeat the clean-up for registry and services, it should be pretty trivial now.

Before we go any further, there is some configuration to be done. MSIX packages must be digitally signed, otherwise the user will not be able to install (and consequently run them). For this to work, we need to configure our digital signature and make RayPack know about it.

If you already have .cer and .pfx files (+ optional password for it) you may go directly to the SETTINGS > Tagging + signing screen, where the values can be provided.

Otherwise, you can create your own personal certificate for testing (aka self-signing). There are many ways of doing this, I prefer to start the following PowerShell script:

$publisher = “CN=”;
$friendlyName = “”
$password = “”
$targetFolder = Join-Path -Path $PSScriptRoot -ChildPath “Generated”;
$certName= “”

if (-not (Test-Path $targetFolder))
{
New-Item $targetFolder -ItemType Directory | Out-Null;
}

$pfxName= Join-Path -Path $targetFolder -ChildPath “$certName.pfx”;

$cerName= Join-Path -Path $targetFolder -ChildPath “$certName.cer”;

$pwdName= Join-Path -Path $targetFolder -ChildPath “$certName.pass”;

Replace the placeholders with values you need, and run it. In the working folder, you should get three files, containing the certificate, the private key for it and password for signing. Make sure to import the certificate to a trusted store on the development/test machine (simple double click and selecting a certificate store would be just fine). Obviously, self-signed certificate are not an option for production, for enterprises their trusted certificates could be distributed over GPO or other means, and the signing itself can be delayed and done by other services.

Now, once the certificate is available and trusted, head to FILE > Settings > Signing + tagging and configure them accordingly. You will need to execute this one-time step once (or to be more precise: once for each profile). After the signing is set up, you can build as many MSIX packages as you want, without changing a bit in projects. RayPack takes over the heavy lifting from you, by adjusting the manifest values accordingly.

Once this one-time step is done, it is time to generate our package. Press FILE, select Build and then MSIX package from the list of available formats:

MSIX package

Select the place where the package is going to be saved and press OK. After a while, the MSIX file should be available.

Install application

Try to test it out. Go to a clean Desktop (having no previous Firefox installed). Make sure the certificate that we created is trusted by this device. Double click the package, and select Install. It will take just a few seconds to pull the sources and register the application. Note, that you do not need to be an administrator to do it, as all MSIX-installations are registered in per-user context.

You can now press the Launch button to run your Firefox from the MSIX package.

finished MSIX package

Voilà, the program runs just fine! There are still couple of areas which may require revisiting (and has been omitted from this tutorial for the sake of clarity), mostly about disabling certain options, tweaking the profiles up, adjusting some further meta-data etc. Additionally, there is a pretty decent support for VM integration (Hyper-V, ESXi and Workstation) which makes some steps easier to do with a simpler setup on a clean VM image.

This concludes this small tutorial. For many apps, the conversion is trivial and requires no specialized knowledge. The tooling ecosystem is constantly being improved, and next and upcoming features of MSIX should make it easier to get more apps running without any additional tweaks.

There are some great benefits of MSIX, including:

  • Fast, reliable and clean installation, uninstallation and repair.
  • Installation per-user, requiring no UAC prompts.
  • Security thanks to contenerization (Windows 1809 and newer).
  • Ability to push packages to Microsoft Store or Store for Business.
  • Ability to easily extend and customize apps via so-called Modification Packages (both for developers and IT Pros).
  • Integrated shimming engine (using Detours) which can be used to fix a few common issues in apps themselves (Package Support Framework).
  • Open source!
  • Even old legacy apps (see exceptions above) can be converted to MSIX, without a change in the binary code or recompilation.

On cons side:

  • Not all apps can be converted. You should be aware of services which are not supported right now, and all limitations that App-V imposes (drivers, IPC via registry etc.).
  • Full support is only available on Windows 10 1809 and newer. Earlier versions of Windows 10 are likely to be supported soon (1709 and 1803). Windows 7 and Windows 10 will be only available via MSIX Core, which provides no contenerization and thus removes many advantages over legacy technologies.
  • The format itself is a bit verbose, and documentation in many places poor or contradictory. You should rather stick to tooling from Microsoft or ISVs, like RayPack.
  • When comparing to App-V, there seems to be a subset of features which MSIX does not support, for example scripting before launching (this may change in the future, but be aware that some dynamics are right now not easily supported out-of-the-box).

I am really looking forward to further development of MSIX and its ecosystem. The technology is promising, and it has been so far one of the most important changes in the software deployment since 20 years, the last one being Windows Installer from MS Team.

Menu

Erstellen von MSIX-Paketen mit RayPack 6.1

Geschrieben von Marcin Otorowski, Senior Developer und Lead Program Manager von RayPack Studio.

Letzte Woche war ich in London und hatte die Gelegenheit, mit einigen MS-Leuten zu sprechen, die hinter #MSIX stehen. Ebenfalls wurde letzte Woche eine neue Version von RayPack Studio veröffentlicht, die einige Verbesserungen hinsichtlich der MSIX-Konvertierung in Version 6.1 mit sich bringt. Mit diesem Beitrag möchte ich einen kurzen Überblick verschaffen, wie man von so genannten Legacy-Installationen (traditionell alle setup.exe und dergleichen, in jüngster Zeit wurde sogar das Windows Installer-Format zu dieser Gruppe gezählt) zu der neuen, modernen und originalen Windows-10-Methode der Installation und Wartung von Apps übergeht.

Es gibt eine Möglichkeit, all dies auf einer virtuellen Maschine über das PackBot-Modul zu realisieren, aber der Einfachheit halber werde ich den einfachen Weg über die lokale Repaketierung gehen. Ich werde nun Folgendes machen:

  1. Meine Systemumgebung einrichten
  2. Erstellung des ersten Snapshots
  3. Firefox installieren und konfigurieren
  4. Erstellung des zweiten Snapshots
  5. Vergleich der Schnappschüsse, Erstellung von RCP (RayPack Capture Project)
  6. Bereinigung des Projekts, Entfernung veralteter Ressourcen und Betriebssystembelastungen
  7. Die Signiereinrichtung einrichten
  8. Erstellen und Ausführen von MSIX-Dateien

Nachdem Sie RayPack gestartet haben, gehen Sie zu FILE > New > Repackaging, um den Wizard für die Repaketierung zu öffnen:

{:de}Neues MSIX Projekt{:}{:en}New MSIX project{:}

Wählen Sie den Firefox-Installer aus und passen Sie die erforderlichen Felder nach Bedarf an. Dabei verwende ich immer den erweiterten Modus (siehe Bild unten), der alle Bildschirme und Einstellungen unterstützt:

 

{:de}MSIX Projekteinstellungen{:}{:en}MSIX Project settings{:}

Das Snapshotting und die Installation sind denkbar unkompliziert – einfach das Installationsprogramm auswählen und mit einem Klick auf die folgende Seite gelangen:

 

{:de}MSIX Repaketierung{:}{:en}MSIX repackaging{:}

Die Standardeinstellungen sind ausreichend, aber in den meisten Fällen ist es sinnvoll das Laufwerk C, HKLM und die HKCU-Registrierungsschlüssel zu aktivieren. Die Liste “RayPack-Aggressive” ist standardmäßig deaktiviert, aber meiner Meinung nach sollten Sie diese aktivieren, damit sie das spätere Clean-up erleichtert.

Sie sollten die Berechtigungsprüfung nicht aktivieren. Dies mag für einige IT-Profis nützlich sein, aber im Falle einer Repaketierung nach MSIX beansprucht dies nur Systemressourcen und bringt keinen Mehrwert.

Fahren Sie anschließend mit dem nächsten Schritt fort, bis das Setup gestartet wird.

{:de}MSIX Installierungsvorgang{:}{:en}MSIX installation process{:}

Die Installation erfordert keine besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Danach können Sie Firefox starten und ein paar Dinge konfigurieren wie zum Beispiel:

  • Automatische Updates deaktivieren
  • Wartungsdienst deaktivieren
  • “Erster Start”-UI überspringen
  • Einrichten der Standard-Startseite

… und so weiter.

Wenn Sie fertig sind, können Sie einen zweiten Snapshot machen. Nach der Akzeptierung der Übersichtsseiten wird das repaketierte Projekt geöffnet. Das Projekt selbst ist nicht in einem bestimmten Format (MSI oder MSIX), sondern hat eine lose Dateistruktur mit einer XML-Definition, die die Quellen und Metadaten verknüpft. Von diesem Projekt aus ist es möglich, zu MSI, MSIX, App-V und einigen anderen, von RayPack angebotenen Formaten, zu wechseln. Ich persönlich finde es nützlich, das Projekt für eine weitere Bezugnahme zu speichern, da manchmal die Bereinigung zu vielen Ressourcen einen Neuaufbau erfordert – was einfach ist, wenn Sie Ihr Quellprojekt haben!

{:de}MSIX Projektübersicht{:}{:en}MSIX Project overview{:}

Dies ist der Zeitpunkt, an dem ein abschließendes Clean-up und Review stattfinden sollte. Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Werte (wie Produktname, Version und Hersteller) korrekt sind, und schauen Sie sich die Zahlen in der Projektübersicht an, um einen ersten Überblick über den Inhalt des Pakets zu erhalten.

Es gibt in diesem Zusammenhang mindestens drei Ansichten, die jetzt von Interesse sein sollten:

  • Dateien und Ordner
  • Registry
  • Tastenkombinationen

In Abhängigkeit zur Anzahl der zuvor ausgewählten Ausschlusslisten, erhalten Sie möglicherweise sofort einen sauberen Status oder einen Wert, der ein manuelles Eingreifen erfordert. Wenn Sie eine Ressource sehen, die nicht zur neu installierten App gehört (z.B. Störungen des Betriebssystems, Windows Updates, Antivirus usw.), schließen Sie diese einfach aus, indem Sie mit der rechten Maustaste auf das entsprechende Element klicken und die richtige Option auswählen.

Im Übrigen – dieser Clean-up-Schritt war früher viel wichtiger für die MSI-Paketierung bzw. jede andere Paketierung für einen sogenannten “Fat-Client”. Der Verzicht auf unnötige Ressourcen kann später zu gravierenden Konflikten führen. Erfreulicherweise, da das MSIX-Format auf einem virtualisierten Dateisystem arbeitet, hätte das Auslassen zu vieler Ressourcen nicht diese große Auswirkung, außer der Verunreinigung des Pakets mit überflüssigen Ressourcen (was bedeutet, dass es größer wird) und alle DLL- oder anderen Ressourcenkonflikte werden nur auf das aktuelle Paket übertragen, wodurch das System intakt bleibt. Dennoch ist es immer noch wichtig, dass das MSIX-Paket sauber und so leicht wie möglich ist, weshalb ich die Relevanz dieses Schrittes nicht unterbewerten möchte.

Zurück zu Firefox: Für diese Repaketierung habe ich im Maintenance Service von Mozilla nichts geändert. Deshalb sollten Sie es einfach von RCP ausschließen, bevor die endgültige Konvertierung stattfindet.

{:de}MSIX Projektinhalt{:}{:en}MSIX project content{:}

Wiederholen Sie das Clean-up für Registry und Services. Das sollte jetzt ziemlich einfach sein.

Bevor wir weitermachen, müssen noch einige Konfigurationen vorgenommen werden. MSIX-Pakete müssen digital signiert sein, sonst kann der Benutzer sie nicht installieren (und somit ausführen). Damit dies funktioniert, müssen wir unsere digitale Signatur konfigurieren mit der wir RayPack darüber informieren.

Wenn Sie bereits .cer- und.pfx-Dateien (+ optionales Passwort dafür) haben, können Sie direkt zum Bildschirm SETTINGS > Tagging + Signatur gehen, auf dem die entsprechenden Eingaben vorgenommen werden können.

Andernfalls können Sie Ihr eigenes persönliches Zertifikat zum Testen erstellen (auch bekannt als Self-Signing). Es gibt mehrere Möglichkeiten, dies zu tun – ich bevorzuge es, das folgende PowerShell-Skript zu starten:

$publisher = “CN=”;
$friendlyName = “”
$password = “”
$targetFolder = Join-Path -Path $PSScriptRoot -ChildPath “Generated”;
$certName= “”
 
if (-not (Test-Path $targetFolder))
{
    New-Item $targetFolder -ItemType Directory | Out-Null;
}

$pfxName= Join-Path -Path $targetFolder -ChildPath “$certName.pfx”;

$cerName= Join-Path -Path $targetFolder -ChildPath “$certName.cer”;

$pwdName= Join-Path -Path $targetFolder -ChildPath “$certName.pass”;

Ersetzen Sie die Platzhalter durch die von Ihnen benötigten Werte und führen Sie diese aus. Im Arbeitsordner sollten Sie drei Dateien erhalten, die das Zertifikat, den privaten Zugriffsschlüssel und das Passwort zum Signieren enthalten. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie das Zertifikat in einen vertrauenswürdigen Ort auf dem Entwicklungs-/Testcomputer importieren (ein einfacher Doppelklick und die Auswahl eines zertifizierten Speichersorts ist ausreichend). Natürlich sind selbstsignierte Zertifikate keine Option für die Erstellung, für Unternehmen könnten ihre vertrauenswürdigen Zertifikate über GPO oder andere Mittel verteilt werden, und die Signatur selbst kann aufgeschoben und durch andere Dienste durchgeführt werden.

Sobald das Zertifikat zur Verfügung steht und vertrauenswürdig ist, gehen Sie zu FILE > Settings > Signing + Tagging und konfigurieren Sie es entsprechend.Diesen Schritt müssen Sie einmalig ausführen (genauer gesagt: einmal für jedes Profil). Nachdem die Signatur eingerichtet ist, können Sie so viele MSIX-Pakete erstellen, wie Sie möchten, ohne in den Projekten etwas zu ändern. RayPack übernimmt die schwere Last von Ihnen, indem es die Manifestwerte entsprechend anpasst.

Sobald der Schritt abgeschlossen ist, ist es an der Zeit, unser Paket zu generieren. Drücken Sie FILE, wählen Sie Build und dann MSIX-Paket aus der Liste der verfügbaren Formate:

{:de}MSIX Paket{:}{:en}MSIX package{:}

Wählen Sie den Ort, an dem das Paket gespeichert werden soll, und klicken Sie auf OK. Nach einer Weile sollte die MSIX-Datei verfügbar sein.

{:de}Applikation installieren{:}{:en}Install application{:}

Versuchen Sie, es zu testen. Wechseln Sie zu einem sauberen Desktop (ohne vorher installiertem Firefox). Stellen Sie sicher, dass das von uns erstellte Zertifikat durch dieses Gerät als vertrauenswürdig eingestuft wird. Wählen Sie das Paket mit einem Doppelklick aus und wählen Sie “Install” aus. Es dauert nur wenige Sekunden, um die Quellen zu ziehen und die Anwendung zu registrieren. Beachten Sie, dass Sie dazu kein Administrator sein müssen, da alle MSIX-Installationen im Per-User-Kontext registriert sind.

Sie können nun auf Start klicken, um Ihren Firefox aus dem MSIX-Paket heraus auszuführen.

{:de}fertiges MSIX Paket{:}{:en}finished MSIX package{:}

Voilà, das Programm läuft einwandfrei! Es gibt noch einige Bereiche, die einen erneuten Blick erfordern können (und in diesem Tutorial aus Gründen der Übersichtlichkeit weggelassen wurden), vor allem in Bezug auf die Deaktivierung bestimmter Optionen, das Anpassen der Profile, das Anpassen weiterer Metadaten. Zusätzlich gibt es eine ziemlich gute Unterstützung für die VM-Integration (Hyper-V, ESXi und Workstation), die einige Schritte mit einem einfacheren Setup auf einem sauberen VM-Image erleichtert.

Hiermit endet dieses kleine Tutorial. Für viele Apps ist die Konvertierung denkbar einfach und erfordert keine speziellen Kenntnisse. Das Tooling Ecosystem wird ständig verbessert, und die nächsten und kommenden Features von MSIX sollten es einfacher machen, mehr Apps ohne zusätzliche Optimierungen laufen zu lassen.

Es gibt einige große Vorteile von MSIX, darunter:

  • Schnelle, zuverlässige und saubere Installation, Deinstallation und Reparatur.
  • Installation per Benutzer, die keine UAC-Anfragen erfordert.
  • Sicherheit durch Konkurrenzsituation (Windows 1809 und neuer).
  • Möglichkeit, Pakete in den Microsoft Store oder Store for Business zu verschieben.
  • Möglichkeit der einfachen Erweiterung und Anpassung von Anwendungen über so genannte Modification Packages (sowohl für Entwickler als auch für IT-Profis).
  • Integrierte Shimming-Engine (benutzt Detours), mit der einige der häufigen Problemen in Apps selbst behoben werden können (Package Support Framework).
  • Open Source!
  • Selbst alte Legacy-Anwendungen (siehe Ausnahmen oben) können ohne Änderung des Binärcodes oder Neukompilierung in MSIX umgewandelt werden.

Allerdings:

  • Nicht alle Apps können konvertiert werden. Sie sollten sich über Dienste, die derzeit nicht unterstützt werden, und alle Einschränkungen, die App-V mit sich bringt (Treiber, IPC über die Registry etc.), im Klaren sein.
  • Vollständiger Support ist nur für Windows 10 1809 und neuer verfügbar. Frühere Versionen von Windows 10 werden wahrscheinlich bald unterstützt (1709 und 1803). Windows 7 und Windows 10 werden nur über MSIX Core verfügbar sein, was keine Konkurrenzfähigkeit bietet und somit viele Vorteile gegenüber älteren Technologien aufhebt.
  • Das Format selbst ist etwas umfangreich, und die Dokumentation an vielen Stellen schlecht oder widersprüchlich. Sie sollten sich lieber an Tools von Microsoft oder ISVs wie RayPack halten.
  • Im Vergleich zu App-V scheint es eine Teilmenge von Features zu geben, die MSIX nicht unterstützt, z.B. Skripting vor dem Start (dies kann sich in Zukunft ändern, aber beachten Sie, dass einige Dynamiken derzeit nicht so einfach out-of-the-box unterstützt werden).

Ich freue mich sehr auf die weitere Entwicklung von MSIX und seinem Ecosystem. Die Technologie ist vielversprechend und stellt bisher eine der wichtigsten Änderungen in der Softwareverteilung seit 20 Jahren dar, letztere ist Windows Installer von MS Team.

Menü