Packaging & Virtualization

Evaluation of critical resources

The first step in the packaging process is the evaluation of the critical resources supplied from the Evaluation and Technical Analysis process. This involves checking that all required documentation is present and complete, that all source, configuration and test files are present and in the correct format and that the source media supplied complies with the documentation that has been supplied. If any critical resources are missing, incomplete or incorrect, then this must be documented (in the package result documentation) and escalated to the team lead for clarification.

Package Application
The application should now be packaged, using the information from the Evaluation and TA phases, based on the best practices, restrictions and recommendations contained within the packaging guidelines, in the desired format. Packaging can be done in various formats, since Raynet consultants are trained in almost every format on the market. Examples are:

  • Microsoft Windows Installer Packages (MSI)
  • Symantec Software Workspace Virtualization (SWV)
  • Microsoft App-V
  • HP Radia
  • VMware ThinApp
  • Linux RPM Packages
  • Debian Linux deb and dpkg
  • Apple MacOS package (pkg) and Meta package (mpkg)

Technical Testing
Once the initial package engineering has been completed, the Technical testing is carried out by the packager, to ensure that the package conforms to the format laid down in the packaging guidelines documentation, and that the package installs, and deinstalls cleanly. Technical testing also ensures that the application contained within the package functions correctly, as laid down in the Evaluation and Technical Analysis documentation. This testing is purely technical and not to be mistaken with a quality assurance process which prepares the user acceptance step.

Software Virtualization
Examples of virtualization are Citrix XenAppNovell ZENworks Application VirtualizationMicrosoft Application VirtualizationSymantec's Software Virtualization SolutionSymantec’s Workspace Virtualization or VMware ThinApp.

Raynet Consultants and packagers are trained  and certified users of these technologies.

Software Packaging Tool
With RayPack, Raynet supplies a tool within their software management suite, automating the virtualization of packages with a high degree of reusability for an easy distribution of those packages. Our Consultants and packagers are also trained and certified users of other software application packaging tools such as Wise Package Studio from Symantec.

 

SAM_grey.jpg PO_grey.jpg POA.jpg Eval.jpg PKG.jpg QA.jpg UAT_grey.jpg DEP_grey.jpg

Top Benefits

Economical advantage guaranteed

  • Fair pricing policy with irresistible offers for early birds & migrations

Software Packaging Tool

With RayPack, Raynet supplies a tool within their software management suite, automating the virtualization of packages with a high degree of reusability for an easy distribution of those packages.
Our Consultants and packagers are also trained and certified users of other software application packaging tools such as Wise Package Studio from Symantec.

Softwarepaketierung und Virtualisierung

Evaluierung wichtiger Ressourcen

Der erste Schritt bei der Paketierung ist die Prüfung wichtiger Ressourcen, die sich aus der Evaluierung und technischen Analyse ergeben. Dies beinhaltet zu überprüfen, ob alle erforderlichen Unterlagen vollständig vorliegen, ob alle Quell-, Konfigurierungs- und Testdateien im korrekten Format vorhanden sind und ob die bereitgestellten Quellmedien mit der bereitgestellten Dokumentierung übereinstimmen. Falls wichtige Ressourcen fehlen, unvollständig oder fehlerhaft sind, muss dies dokumentiert werden (in der Ergebnisdokumentierung des Pakets) und an den Teamleiter zur Überprüfung weitergeleitet werden.

Paketanwendungen

Die Anwendung sollte nun mit den Informationen aus den Evaluierungs- und TA-Phasen, basierend auf bewährten Verfahren, Einschränkungen und Empfehlungen aus den Paketierungsanleitungen, im gewünschten Format paketiert werden. Die Paketierung kann in unterschiedlichen Formaten erfolgen, da Raynet-Berater für fast alle auf dem Markt erhältlichen Formate geschult sind. Beispiele hierfür sind:

  • Microsoft Windows Installer Packages (MSI)
  • Symantec Software Workspace Virtualization (SWV)
  • Microsoft App-V
  • HP Radia
  • VMware ThinApp
  • Linux RPM Packages
  • Debian Linux deb and dpkg
  • Apple MacOS package (pkg) and Meta package (mpkg)

Technische Tests

Nachdem die anfängliche Paketerstellung abgeschlossen wurde, führt der Paketierer technische Tests durch, um sicherzustellen, dass das Paket dem in den Paketierungsanleitungen angegebenen Format entspricht und dass das Softwarepaket sauber installiert und deinstalliert werden kann. Technische Tests gewährleisten zudem, dass die in den Paketfunktionen enthaltene Anwendung gemäß den Unterlagen aus der Evaluierung und technischen Analyse ordnungsgemäß funktioniert. Diese Tests sind rein technisch und nicht mit der Qualitätssicherung zu verwechseln, die als Vorbereitung für die Benutzerakzeptanz dient.

Softwarevirtualisierung

Beispiele für Virtualisierung sind Citrix XenAppNovell ZENworks Application VirtualizationMicrosoft Application VirtualizationSymantec's Software Virtualization SolutionSymantec’s Workspace Virtualization or VMware ThinApp.

Raynet-Berater und -Paketierer sind geschulte und zertifizierte Nutzer dieser Technologien.

Softwarepaketierungs-Tool

Mit RayPack Studio liefert Raynet eine Lösung innerhalb der Software Management Suite, das die Virtualisierung von Paketen mit einem hohen Maß an Wiederverwendbarkeit für eine leichte Verteilung dieser Pakete automatisiert. Unsere Berater und Paketierer sind ebenfalls geschulte und zertifizierte Nutzer von Tools zur Softwarepaketierung wie Wise Package Studio von Symantec.

 

License Management Order Interface Order Acceptance Evaluation Packaging Quality Assuarnce User Acceptance Software Deployment

Vorteile

Wirtschaftlicher Vorteil garantiert

  • Faire Preispolitik mit attraktiven Angeboten für Frühbucher & migrierende Kunden

Softwarepaketierungs-Tool

Mit RayPack Studio liefert Raynet eine Lösung innerhalb der Software Management Suite, das die Virtualisierung von Paketen mit einem hohen Maß an Wiederverwendbarkeit für eine leichte Verteilung dieser Pakete automatisiert.

Unsere Berater und Paketierer sind ebenfalls geschulte und zertifizierte Nutzer von Tools zur Softwarepaketierung wie Wise Package Studio von Symantec.