Packaging Factory

Package Factory Benefits

Why selecting a Package Factory?

  • A Package Factory is a rapid, reliable and cost-effective method for outsourcing software packaging. Our off-site model is a proven method for leveraging highly skilled packaging professionals for use on global projects.

  • In-depth knowledge of application packaging and software distribution.

  • Experts in repackaging existing legacy installation packages from any vendor to MSI format Comprehensive understanding and consultant expertise in Microsoft Windows Installer technologies and .MSI standards Cost-effective Windows MSI packaging service

  • Drive TCO costs down, while delivering high quality software on-time and on-budget.

  • Once packaged, applications can be quickly installed on a range of desktops in multiple locations, saving administrative costs

 

The Raynet Virtual Packaging Factory

is consisting of services based on a methodology used by the involved parties who follow agreed upon processes with defined interfaces and handover-procedures.

It manifests itself physically  through its infrastructure, such as computers, rooms, buildings, furniture for staff, etc.. Since the physical manifestation can be done easily and principally everywhere, the Packaging Factory can be setup anytime, or vice versa, any setup group can be part of the Factory by simply following their process rules. That gives the factory an enormously flexibility and that is, why Raynet calls it a “Virtual Packaging Factory”.

It raises the throughput of packages, enhances its quality, and lowers the throughput -costs and also the costs for staffing. Any outside disturbances or developments (e.g. increasing labor costs) can –at least to a certain degree- be compensated by the factory‘s flexibility.

The Raynet Software Packaging Factory

helps customers- and partners- to prepare software for the purposes of deployment and unattended installations/de-installations without heavy investment in in-house packaging resources or know how.

Based on an on-site/nearsite/off-site model, the Raynet customers -and partners- (on-site) and the PF (off-site) provide the perfect blend of dedicated project management and experienced consulting.  Partners are able to increase their customer retention by doing the consultancy on client site and become the interface to the off-site packaging division of Raynet.  The factory gives customers –and partners- access to:

  • The experience and knowledge of a market leading vendor
  • Established best-practice processes
  • Most advanced infrastructure and technology
  • High educated and motivated specialists
  • Field-tested templates and guide-lines

 

How does this work?

Step 1. Structured packaging requirements gathering

Experienced Raynet experts provide an onsite Workshop for an as-is-analysis, also training, tools and methodology to this process, but the key ingredient is the leadership of a skilled company who develops a strong relationship with the customer and who knows their business requirements, processes and standards. By necessity this step requires on-site consulting.

Step 2. Creating the Package

Once the requirement gathering is complete, the Raynet packaging team goes to work. Using the award winning best-of-breed tools and drawing on many man-years of packaging experience, the packaging team will repackage applications to the customers individually configured standards. This can also include virtualization or conflict management.

Step 3. Testing and integration

Once the applications are packaged they must be subject to rigorous testing, integration and quality assurance. This, of necessity must be done at the customer site and requires the help of a skilled consultant who is familiar with Raynet’s packaging methodology and the customer’s specific requirements and standards. A complete set of tools automating and controlling the complete life cycle of software (RaySuite) is ready to run your software management. The factory represents a part of that, doing a part of evaluation, the complete packaging and quality assurance. You have the option to automate the deployment, which will be seamlessly integrated. With RaySuite you also have the option to automate and embed the steps happen prior to do evaluation and packaging, such as checking your software on suitability for the target platform or do inventory and licensing in your portfolio.

Paketierungsfabrik

Was ist die Virtuelle Paketierungsfabrik?

Die virtuelle Paketierungsfabrik von Raynet besteht aus Dienstleistungen, deren Grundlage auf Prozesse mit definierten Schnittstellen und Übergabeverfahren beruhen und letztendlich von allen beteiligten Parteien verwendet wird.

Sie zeigt sich anhand ihrer Infrastruktur, wie z. B. Computer, Zimmer, Gebäude, Büromöbel etc. Da diese physische Manifestierung leicht und eigentlich fast überall erfolgen kann, kann die Paketierungsfabrik jederzeit eingerichtet werden, oder jede erstellte Gruppe kann umgekehrt wiederum Teil der Paketierungsfabrik werden, indem sie einfach ihre Prozessregeln befolgt. Dies macht die Anlage enorm flexibel, weshalb sie von Raynet als „Virtual Packaging Factory“ bezeichnet wird.

Die Anzahl verarbeiteter Pakete wird erhöht, die Qualität gesteigert und die Durchlauf- und Personalkosten werden gesenkt. Alle Störungen oder Entwicklungen von außen (z. B. steigende Arbeitskosten) können – zumindest bis zu einem gewissen Grad – durch die Flexibilität der Anlage kompensiert werden.

Vorteile

Die Raynet Softwarepaketierungsfabrik hilft Kunden und Partnern dabei, Software für die Verteilung und bedienerlose Installationen/Deinstallationen ohne größere Investitionen in firmeninterne Paketierungs-Ressourcen oder -Kenntnisse vorzubereiten.

Basierend auf einem Modell am/in der Nähe des/außerhalb des Standorts liefern Raynet-Kunden (vor Ort) und die PF (außerhalb) die perfekte Mischung aus engagiertem Projektmanagement und erfahrener Beratung. Partner können die Kundenzufriedenheit steigern, indem sie Beratungsdienste am Standort des Kunden anbieten und als Schnittstelle zur Paketierungsabteilung von Raynet außerhalb des Standorts fungieren. Die Anlage bietet Kunden – und Partnern – Zugriff auf:

  • Erfahrung und Wissen eines marktführenden Anbieter
  • Etablierte, bewährte Prozesse
  • Fortschrittlichste Infrastruktur und Technologie
  • Hervorragend ausgebildete und motivierte Experten
  • In der Praxis getestete Templates und Leitfäden

 

Wie funktioniert das?

Schritt 1: Strukturierte Sammlung von Paketierungsanforderungen

Erfahrene Raynet-Experten bieten neben Schulungen, Tools und Methodologie einen Workshop vor Ort für eine Ist-Analyse an. Der wichtigste Aspekt sind jedoch die Anweisungen eines befähigten Unternehmens, das eine enge Beziehung zum Kunden aufbaut und dessen Geschäftsanforderungen, -prozesse und -standards kennt. Dieser Schritt erfordert unbedingt Beratungen vor Ort.

Schritt 2: Erstellung des Paketes

Nachdem sämtliche Anforderungen gesammelt wurden, macht sich das Paketierungsteam von Raynet an die Arbeit. Mit preisgekrönten, erstklassigen Tools und jahrelanger Erfahrung paketiert das Team die Anwendungen gemäß den vom Kunden individuell konfigurierten Standards neu. Dies kann auch Schritte wie Virtualisierung oder Konfliktmanagement beinhalten.

Schritt 3: Testen und Integration

Nachdem die Anwendungen paketiert wurden, müssen sie präzisen Tests, Integration und Qualitätssicherung unterzogen werden. Dies muss selbstverständlich am Standort des Kunden erfolgen, wobei ein befähigter Berater anwesend sein muss, der mit der Paketierungsmethodologie von Raynet sowie mit den spezifischen Anforderungen und Standards des Kunden vertraut ist. Ein umfassendes Set an Tools steht bereit, um ihr Softwaremanagement zu übernehmen. Hierbei wird der komplette Lebenszyklus der Software (RaySuite) automatisiert und kontrolliert. Die Paketierungsfabrik ist ein Bestandteil davon und erledigt einen Teil der Evaluierung, die komplette Paketierung und die Qualitätssicherung. Sie haben die Option, die Verteilung zu automatisieren, was problemlos integriert wird. Mit RaySuite können Sie zudem optional die Schritte vor der Evaluierung und Paketierung automatisieren und einfügen, wie z. B. Kompatibilitäts-Check bei Ihrer Software bezüglich der Zielplattform oder Inventarisierung und Lizenzierung in Ihrem Portfolio.

Warum sollten Sie sich für eine Paketierungsfabrik entscheiden?

Vorteile der Paketierungsfabrik

  • Eine Paketierungsfabrik ist eine schnelle, zuverlässige und kosteneffiziente Methode zum Outsourcen von Softwarepaketierung. Unser Remote-Modell ist eine bewährte Methode, bei der hervorragend ausgebildete Fachleute bei globalen Projekten eingesetzt werden
  • Umfassende Kenntnisse zur Anwendungspaketierung und Softwareverteilung
  • Experten Know-how bei der Re-Paketierung von alten Installationspaketen von jedem beliebigen Hersteller ins MSI-Format
  • Umfassendes Verständnis und Beratererfahrung in Microsoft Windows Installer Technologien und MSI-Standards
  • Kosteneffizienter Windows MSI Paketierungsservice
  • Senken der TCO-Kosten, wobei gleichzeitig hochwertige Software zum vereinbarten Zeitpunkt und zum vereinbarten Preis geliefert wird
  • Nach der Paketierung können Anwendungen schnell auf einer Reihe von Desktops an mehreren Standorten installiert werden, wobei Verwaltungskosten eingespart werden