Conflict Management

Targets of a comprehensive Software Conflict Management

For Raynet, conflict management is an essential building block in providing quality assured software packages. Terms like “Conflict Elimination”, “Conflict Validation” and “Conflict Solution” are differently interpreted within the context of software packaging. Some tools define violations of rules within the software package and encapsulated “design variances” as conflicts (ICE conflicts). Others talk about software conflicts once a file used in a software package is installed jointly with a same-name-file of another package in the same environment.

There are certainly further occurrences of software conflicts in software packages. All of them share the fact, that they get manifested to a problem in later phases, when different software products are being installed in the same environment or have to interact with the operating system as well as prior or after a change in the installation status (installation, de-installation, etc.).

The only weapon to avoid disturbances and work pro-actively against conflicts is an exact knowledge about the consequences of installing or de-installing an application on a certain client.

By adjusting and matching software towards the target system it should run on, losses in work time and disturbances on the clients can be avoided or reduced. This means a lesser volume on helpdesk calls, less incidents and significant increase in the quality of the software provision process. This underlines the importance of a conflict management system.

Approach

Conflict Management allows the discovery of possible conflicts between applications already during the provision process. Even better, it is possible to already eliminate those conflicts before providing the packaged application to the customer. Conflict management is done continuously during the overall process and by the individuals assigned to the various tasks.

Conflict Management

Steps of a Software-Conflict-Management

Within RaySuite, Raynet uses RayQC as an automation tool to detect possible conflicts in applications and lists them for either an automatic correction or later examination. Raynet consultants elaborate your individual environment and consider principles and recommendations when implementing a conflict management, such as:

  • Setup of a central Conflict Management database
  • Building „Application-Sets“ guaranteed free of conflicts. New applications will be tested against the set it is supposed to join. Alternatively, the conflict check will be done against the largest possible base released.
  • Handling of software packages of just one type (e.g. native MSI, virtual package, etc.)
  • Setting test criteria for the Conflict Management
  • Setting up a release management to administer applications, application gorups and the tested base.

Top Benefits

Reduce IT and helpdesk costs

  • Increases the quality of your software deployments through multi-level and standardized test plans by relieving the manual testing tasks of your workforce.

Konfliktmanagement

Ziele eines umfassenden Konfliktmanagements

Für Raynet ist Konfliktmanagement ein wesentliches Element, um die Qualitätssicherung von Softwarepaketen zu gewährleisten. Begriffe wie „Konfliktbeseitigung“, „Konfliktvalidierung“ und „Konfliktlösung“ werden im Kontext von Softwarepaketierung unterschiedlich interpretiert. Einige Tools definieren Regelverletzungen bei einem Softwarepaket und eingeschlossenen „Designvarianten“ als Konflikte (ICE-Konflikte). Andere meinen mit Software-Konflikten eine in einem Softwarepaket installierte Datei, die gemeinsam mit einer gleichnamigen Datei eines anderen Pakets in der gleichen Arbeitsumgebung installiert wird.

Es gibt sicherlich noch weitere Vorfälle von Software-Konflikten bei Softwarepaketen. Alle haben gemeinsam, dass in einer späteren Phase ein Problem auftritt, wenn unterschiedliche Softwareprodukte in der gleichen Arbeitsumgebung installiert werden oder im Betriebssystem interagieren müssen, was sowohl vor als auch nach einer Änderung des Installationsstatus (Installation, Deinstallation etc.) der Fall sein kann.

Das einzige Mittel, um Störungen wirksam zu bekämpfen und proaktiv gemeinsam Konflikte zu beheben, sind genaue Kenntnisse der Folgen beim Installieren oder Deinstallieren einer Anwendung auf einem bestimmten Client.

Indem die Software überarbeitet und an das Zielsystem, auf dem sie laufen soll, angepasst wird, können Arbeitsausfälle oder Client-Störungen vermieden oder verringert werden. Dies bedeutet weniger Helpdesk-Anrufe, weniger Zwischenfälle und ein deutlicher Qualitätsanstieg bei der Software-Bereitstellung. Das unterstreicht die Bedeutung eines Konfliktmanagementsystems.

Ansatz

Konfliktmanagement ermöglicht bereits während der Bereitstellung das Entdecken möglicher Konflikte zwischen Anwendungen. Zudem ist es möglich, diese Konflikte bereits zu beseitigen, bevor die paketierte Anwendung an den Kunden übergeben wird. Konfliktmanagement erfolgt kontinuierlich während des gesamten Prozesses und wird von den Personen, denen unterschiedliche Aufgaben zugeteilt wurden, durchgeführt.

Konfliktmanagement

Schritte eines Software-Konfliktmanagement

Raynet setzt innerhalb von RaySuite mit RayQC ein Tool ein, das mögliche Konflikte bei Anwendungen entdeckt und diese auflistet, um sie automatisch zu beheben oder später zu überprüfen. Raynet-Berater bearbeiten Ihre individuelle Arbeitsumgebung und prüfen Prinzipien und Empfehlungen bei der Implementierung von Konfliktmanagement, wie z.B.

  • Einrichtung einer zentralen Konfliktmanagement-Datenbank
  • Aufbau von „Anwendungs-Sets“, die garantiert konfliktfrei sind. Neue Anwendungen werden gegenüber dem Set getestet, dem sie hinzugefügt werden sollen. Alternativ erfolgt der Konflikt-Check gegenüber der größtmöglichen freigegebenen Basis
  • Nur Bearbeitung von Softwarepaketen eines Typs (z. B. MSI, virtuelles Paket etc.)
  • Erstellen von Testkriterien für das Konfliktmanagement
  • Erstellen des Freigabemanagements zur Verwaltung von Anwendungen, Anwendungsgruppen und der getesteten Basis