Application Migration

Since applications are the tools used by the end-user to run the company business, every migration involving them could have a significant or very high impact on the business. Our goal is to support every migration with clear and defined objectives and with the minimum amount of effort.

An Application migration is mostly done together with the migration from one OS to another, but is not always the case.

In general, Raynet supports the following migration strategies:

a) Migration of client applications with or without updating the application version
b) Migrating legacy applications, which are known to be incompatible or assumed to become incompatible from being locally installed to virtual environments.

An example:

Customer uses MS Access 97 macro applications and will migrate to Access 2012. A parallel installation and use of different Access versions on a single computer shall be avoided. The customer IT may not have detailed information about individual Access 97 applications, its usage, and dependencies. On the other hand, the user organization has no chance to migrate them as long as they don’t have the new Access version or additional computers. Therefore, Access 97 will be deployed on to a virtual environment (MS App-V, Citrix XenApp or others) – or vica versa. The key advantage of this strategy is that the organization and users of Access 97 makros gain more time for the migration of their individual apps to Access 2012. Once achieved, the virtualized version can be removed.

Raynet provides full migration support from planning all the way through the preparations and software packaging. Once the bulk migration is done, typically the customer takes over the packaging or hires the Virtual Package Factory of Raynet to provide future packages according to the client design of the customer.

Depending on the requirements and risk assessment, a migration can be a single package order or a larger migration project. Every application migration project is guided by one of Raynet’s highly qualified, experienced and Prince2 certified practitioners. The complete project will be managed according to the Prince2 project management principles and in close cooperation with the customer.

Our migration projects encompass the following steps that are needed for a successful execution:

  • Project preparation (roles, responsibilities, resources)
  • Communication plan
  • Project Planning (timeline, reporting)
  • Design or adoption of policies and guidelines for:
    • Packaging Framework
    • Software Deployment Framework
    • Packaging Tools
    • Application Packaging Policies and Guidelines
    • Quality requirements and acceptance criteria
  • Setup of the customer specific Virtual Packaging Factory (physical, virtual)
    • Definition and setup of computer images as reference
    • Integration of policies or linking to corporate environment (VPN network)
  • Setup of Package Order process, including
    • Provision of requirements and sources
    • Evaluation
    • Application compatibility check (OS- and Browser compatibility checks)
    • Package documentation
    • User acceptance
    • Deployment / handover

The migration of a single application or creating one installation package just needs the package order process. Raynet’s packaging process is supported by workflows and a great suite of products and interfaces engineered by one of the world’s best packaging companies - Raynet. 

Windows Migration Deployment Migration

Windows-Migration

Deployment-Migration

SAM System Migration Application Migration

SAM System Migration

Application-Migration

Anwendungsmigration

Da Anwendungen Tools sind, die von den Endnutzern im Berufsalltag verwendet werden, könnte jede zugehörige Migration einen hohen oder sehr hohen Einfluss auf das Geschäft haben. Unser Ziel ist es, jede Migration mit klaren und definierten Zielen und möglichst wenig Aufwand zu unterstützen.

Eine Anwendungsmigration erfolgt meist zusammen mit der Migration von einem Betriebssystem zu einem anderen, dies ist jedoch nicht immer der Fall.

Im Allgemeinen unterstützt Raynet folgende Migrationsstrategien:

a) Migration von Client-Anwendungen mit oder ohne Update der Anwendungsversion
b) Migration alter Anwendungen, die bekanntermaßen nicht kompatibel sind oder vermutlich bei einer lokalen Installation in virtuellen Umgebungen nicht kompatibel sein werden.

Ein Beispiel:
Der Kunde nutzt MS Access 97 Makroanwendungen und will zu Access 2012 migrieren. Eine parallele Installation und die Verwendung unterschiedlicher Access-Versionen auf dem gleichen Computer sollte vermieden werden. Die IT-Abteilung des Kunden hat möglicherweise keine genauen Informationen über individuelle Access 97 Anwendungen, deren Gebrauch und Interdependenzen. Auf der anderen Seite kann das Unternehmen diese Anwendungen nicht migrieren, solange es nicht die neue Access-Version oder zusätzliche Computer hat. Daher wird Access 97 in einer virtuellen Arbeitsumgebung (MS App-V, Citrix XenApp oder andere) – oder umgekehrt – verteilt. Der Hauptvorteil dieser Strategie besteht darin, dass das Unternehmen und die Benutzer von Access 97 mehr Zeit für die Migration ihrer einzelnen Anwendungen zu Access 2012 erhalten. Nach der Umsetzung kann die virtualisierte Version entfernt werden.

Raynet bietet vollständigen Support bei der Migration, von der Planung über die Vorbereitungen bis hin zur Softwarepaketierung. Nach Abschluss der Bulk-Migration übernimmt der Kunde üblicherweise die Paketierung oder beauftragt die virtuelle Paketierungsfabrik von Raynet damit, zukünftige Pakete gemäß dem Client-Design des Kunden zu liefern.

Je nach Anforderungen und Risikobewertung kann eine Migration ein Einzelpaketprojekt oder ein größeres Migrationsprojekt sein. Jede Anwendungsmigration wird von einem von Raynets hoch qualifizierten, erfahrenen und Prince-2-zertifizierten Fachmännern begleitet. Das ganze Projekt erfolgt nach Prince-2-Management-Prinzipien und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden.

Unsere Migrationsprojekte beinhalten folgende Schritte, die für einen erfolgreichen Abschluss benötigt werden:

  • Projektvorbereitung (Aufgaben, Zuständigkeiten, Ressourcen)
  • Kommunikationsplan
  • Projektplanung (Zeitplan, Berichterstattung)
  • Design oder Verabschiedung von Richtlinien und Leitfäden für:
    • Paketierungs-Rahmenwerk
    • Rahmenwerk zur Softwareverteilung
    • Paketierungs-Tools
    • Richtlinien und Leitfäden zur Anwendungspaketierung
    • Qualitätsanforderungen und Akzeptanzkriterien
  • Einrichtung einer kundenspezifischen virtuellen Paketierungsfabrik (physisch, virtuell)
    • Definition und Erstellung von Computer-Images als Referenz
    • Integration von Richtlinien oder Verbindung mit Unternehmensumgebung (VPN-Netzwerk)
  • Einrichtung von Package-Order-Prozesses, einschließlich
    • Bereitstellung von Anforderungen und Quellen
    • Evaluierung
    • Anwendungskompatibilitäts-Check (Kompatibilitäts-Checks für Betriebssystem und Browser)
    • Paketdokumentierung
    • Benutzerakzeptanz
    • Verteilung/Übergabe

Die Migration einer einzelnen Anwendung oder die Erstellung eines Installationspakets erfordert nur den Package-Order-Prozess. Der Paketierungsprozess von Raynet wird von Workflows sowie einer großartigen Suite an Produkten und Schnittstellen unterstützt, die von einem der weltbesten Paketierungsunternehmen entwickelt wurden – Raynet.

Windows-Migration Softwareverteilungs-Migration

Windows-Migration

Softwareverteilungs-Migration

SAM-System-Migration Anwendungsmigration

SAM System Migration

Anwendungsmigration