With the intuitive inventory solution RayVentory, one of the largest US software manufacturers was able to scan its server farm with more than 670,000 servers in no time.

The customer

Founded in 1982, the company has nearly 22,000 employees and is one of the largest software manufacturers in the world. With annual revenue of $9.03 billion, the company is the world leader in image processing and illustration. In addition to its headquarters in California, the globally active group has branches in North and South America, Asia, Australia, Europe as well as Africa.

Baseline situation

The goal of this project was to gain complete transparency over the complex server landscape and to implement a central inventory solution for all technical data. Thereby, a high degree of automation for better data quality had to be achieved in order to not only work more efficiently, but also to reduce costs and minimize risks.

Optimal software licensing pays off. Incorrect or even missing license management damages sustainable planning and also the dangers of over- or underlicensing exist. For preparation and as a foundation for sustainable hardware and software asset management, complete transparency of the IT landscape is therefore essential.

The customer’s business model requires flexible server provisioning, resulting in a highly virtualized infrastructure. In addition, there are security requirements at the highest level so that access to the data center is severely restricted.

The solution

Raynet was the only software manufacturer and service provider that could meet the customer’s high demands in the competitive quotation and convinced him during the proof-of-value phase. In addition to many years of experience and highly qualified employees, this is also due to the adaptable solutions, which are continuously developed and adjusted to customer situations.

During implementation, it was critical to work closely with the client’s software asset management team to achieve optimal and rapid results. With the flexible inventory solution RayVentory, a concept was developed which fulfills all security requirements and guarantees highest data quality.

RayVentory offers a variety of scanning methods, both agent-based and agentless, to meet different customer needs. With the portable method Raynet achieved complete coverage of all customer requirements. With this scanning technology, it was possible to use the customer’s existing infrastructure for inventory purposes and to retrieve all required data and information quickly from any location.

In this case, the scanner was stored locally on the servers and executed in the authorization context of an existing solution. The successfully determined data is uploaded to the central RayVentory server and prepared accordingly. Already during the project phase, the customer was able to carry out the inventory independently, so that an efficient transition to regular operation took place. The result is not only reflected in the high data quality, but also in the impressive project time: Within a few months, more than half a million servers could be identified.

RayVentory thus forms the foundation for the integrated software license management, which in this case is realized with the Aspera SmartTrack solution. Through the close cooperation and strategic partnership between Raynet and Aspera, the customer benefits from the synergies of two market-leading solutions in the field of software inventory and license management. The common vision to implement a central inventory solution for all technical data has therefore been successfully implemented.

Customer benefits

The identified software and hardware inventories serve not only to improve transparency, but also to prepare for further important measures: By analyzing the identified software, the effective license requirement can be determined. This provides the basis for license cost optimization and protection against audit risks.

In addition, predictive maintenance can be used to prevent system failures that could otherwise have very critical effects on the customer’s business processes.

Conclusion

“Thanks to the close cooperation with the customer and our innovative software solution RayVentory, we were able to create IT transparency in the company in the shortest possible time and thus lay the foundation for sustainable software asset management,” says Joao Pereira, Consultant at Raynet GmbH and responsible for the project.

Customer project
Inventory with RayVentory

Customer
World market leader in image processing and illustration

Industry
Software manufacturer

Employees
22.000

Menu

Mit der intuitiven Inventarisierungs-Lösung RayVentory konnte einer der größten US-amerikanischen Softwarehersteller innerhalb kürzester Zeit seine Serverfarm mit mehr als 670.000 Servern scannen.

Der Kunde

Das 1982 gegründete Unternehmen zählt mit fast 22.000 Mitarbeitern zu den größten Softwareherstellern und ist mit einem Jahresumsatz von 9,03 Milliarden US-Dollar Weltmarktführer in den Bereichen Bildbearbeitung und Illustration. Neben dem Hauptsitz in Kalifornien unterhält der global agierende Konzern weitere Niederlassungen in Nord- sowie Südamerika, Asien, Australien, Europa und Afrika.

Ausgangssituation

Das Ziel dieses Projektes war es, eine vollständige Transparenz über die komplexe Server-Landschaft zu gewinnen und eine zentrale Inventarisierungs-Lösung für alle technischen Daten zu implementieren. Dabei sollte eine möglichst hohe Automatisierung für bessere Datenqualität erreicht werden, um nicht nur effizienter zu arbeiten, sondern zudem Kosten zu senken und Risiken zu minimieren.

Optimale Softwarelizenzierung zahlt sich aus. Fehlerhaftes oder gar fehlendes Lizenzmanagement schadet der nachhaltigen Planung und auch die Gefahren einer Über- oder Unterlizenzierung bestehen. Zur Vorbereitung und als Grundlage für nachhaltiges Hard- und Software Asset Management ist eine vollständige Transparenz der IT-Landschaft daher elementar.

Das Businessmodell des Kunden erfordert eine flexible Server-Provisionierung, welches in einer hochgradig virtualisierten Infrastruktur resultiert. Hinzu kommen Sicherheitsvoraussetzungen auf höchstem Niveau, sodass ein Zugriff auf das Rechenzentrum stark eingeschränkt ist.

Die Lösung

Raynet war der einzige Softwarehersteller und Service Provider, der in der wettbewerbsorientierten Angebots- und Proof-of-Value-Phase den hohen technologischen Ansprüchen des Kunden gerecht werden und ihn überzeugen konnte. Dies liegt neben der langjährigen Erfahrung und den hoch qualifizierten Mitarbeitern auch an den anpassungsfähigen Lösungen, die kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und an Kundensituationen angepasst werden.

Bei der Umsetzung war es von zentraler Bedeutung, eng mit dem Software Asset Management-Team des Kunden zusammenzuarbeiten, um optimale und schnelle Ergebnisse zu erzielen. Mit der flexiblen Inventarisierungs-Lösung RayVentory wurde so ein Konzept erarbeitet, welches sowohl alle Sicherheitsanforderungen erfüllt als auch höchste Datenqualität garantiert.

RayVentory bietet diverse Scan-Methoden, sowohl agentenbasiert als auch agentenlos, um den unterschiedlichen Kundenbedürfnissen gerecht zu werden. Mit der Portable-Variante erzielte Raynet eine vollständige Abdeckung aller Kundenanforderungen. Mithilfe dieser Scanning-Technologie war es möglich, die vorhandene Infrastruktur des Kunden für das Inventarisieren zu nutzen und so alle benötigten Daten und Informationen sehr schnell von jedem beliebigen Ort aus abzufragen.

In diesem Fall wurde der Scanner lokal auf den Servern abgelegt und im Berechtigungskontext einer bereits vorhandenen Lösung ausgeführt. Die erfolgreich ermittelten Daten werden auf den zentralen RayVentory Server hochgeladen und entsprechend aufbereitet. Bereits während der Projektphase wurde der Kunde dabei in die Lage versetzt, die Inventarisierung eigenständig durchzuführen, sodass ein effizienter Übergang in den Regelbetrieb erfolgte. Das Ergebnis zeigt sich nicht nur in der hohen Datenqualität, sondern auch in der beeindruckenden Projektzeit: Innerhalb weniger Monate konnten so mehr als eine halbe Million Server identifiziert werden.

RayVentory bildet somit die Grundlage für das ganzheitliche Softwarelizenzmanagement, welches in diesem Fall mit der Lösung Aspera SmartTrack realisiert wird. Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit und strategische Partnerschaft zwischen Raynet und Aspera profitiert der Kunde von den Synergien zweier marktführender Lösungen auf dem Gebiet der Software-Inventarisierung und des Lizenzmanagements. Die gemeinsame Vision, eine zentrale Inventarisierungs-Lösung für alle technischen Daten zu implementieren, wurde somit erfolgreich umgesetzt.

Die Kundenvorteile

Die identifizierten Software- und Hardwarebestände dienen neben der Transparenz als Vorbereitung für weitere wichtige Maßnahmen: Durch das Analysieren der erkannten Software kann der effektive Lizenzbedarf ermittelt werden. Dies bietet die Grundlage für Lizenzkostenoptimierungen sowie den Schutz vor Audit-Risiken.

Zudem können im Rahmen einer prädiktiven Maintenance entsprechend System-Ausfällen vorgebeugt werden, die ansonsten sehr kritische Auswirkungen auf die Geschäftsprozesse des Kunden haben können.

Das Fazit

„Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunden und unserer innovativen Softwarelösung RayVentory konnten wir in kürzester Zeit eine IT-Transparenz im Unternehmen herstellen und so den Grundstein für ein nachhaltiges Software Asset Management legen“, so Joao Pereira, Consultant bei der Raynet GmbH und zuständig für das Projekt.

Kundenprojekt
Inventarisierung mit RayVentory

Kunde
Weltmarktführer in den Bereichen Bildbearbeitung und Illustration

Branche
Softwarehersteller

Mitarbeiter
22.000

Menü