Medium-sized Business in the Area of Automotive

„With Raynet and Bechtle, in a short period of time we succeeded in the reduction of our software portfolio by more than 70 % without suffering any losses. Thereby we not only achieved significant cutting of costs, but also prepared a solid foundation for the migration to Windows 10, as well as, a future-proofed management of our software.” A medium-sized business in the area of automotive.

The Customer
As one of the leading vendors of components for interior design of automobiles our reference customer is part of the international market. With approximately 1.500 employees, the company distinguishes itself by its customer-oriented service centers and manufacturing plants all over the world.

The Challenge
With a medium-sized company in the area of automotive with more than 1.500 work stations there are many challenges in the area of Application Lifecycle Management, especially, if the IT infrastructure has grown over the years. Over the years, stand-alone and heterogenic structure develop and their confusing structures hide their own obstacles.

Because of this, the company decided to outsource this highly responsible service to our partner Bechtle. It was the obvious thing to do, to consider the migration to Windows as a part of this. As a reliable company, we were called upon to plan and execute this migration project.

It was important to get an overview of all machines as well as applications that existed in the company, to avoid unplanned delays and unpredictable costs for the migration. Furthermore, there was the question which of the software applications that were in use were needed and suitable for the new target platform.

The Solution
With Raynet’s collision and compatibility management, as well as the 7-step-method Dirroci, not only a software portfolio analyses was created, but also a safe and reliable provision of applications for the new operating system was guaranteed.

The first thing to do was, to get an overview of all machines and application in the company. In only two work days, discovery, inventory as well as software recognition of 1.500 devices had been carried out with the use of RayVentory Advanced. The result, which was delivered as an overall report, showed 2.000 software applications with a diversity of product versions which had been inventoried.

It took only five more work days to elaborate and define a future software strategy which resulted in a rationalization of nearly 70 % of the software, which consisted mostly of redundant versions, languages, and functions. The result of the consolidation were 250 standardized software packages which had to be check for compatibility with the target platform. The outcome of this cleansing was, that only those applications which were to be used on Windows 10, were tested for compatibility with the new operating system.

After the strategy and the elaboration for the target scenario had been added to overall report, the compatibility tests with Windows 10 for all relevant software packages had also been executed within 5 working days. This was done independently by our collision and compatibilty solution RayQC Advanced.

After this, we were able to concentrate on the evaluation, software packaging, and the corresponding quality assurance of the approximately 250 defined software applications for Windows 10 and the preparation of the distribution with the new SCCM-infrastructure. The whole packaging process was carried out in only 8 weeks.

Customer Advantages
By this approach not only resources were saved, but it also prevented unnecessary efforts. This considerable rationalization of unused or unnecessary software leads to enormous cost savings in each single phase of the whole Application Lifecycle Management, even in the future.

Conclusion
By integrating the services and products of Raynet, this project was executed successfully and according to schedule. The smooth cooperation with our partner Bechtle and our common customer was also crucial for this success.

Our Partner
Bechtle GmbH IT-Systemhaus & Managed Services Würzburg. A company of the Bechtle AG.

Project overview

Customer Project

  • Total service in the field of Application Lifecycle Management
  • Windows 10 Migration

End Customer
Medium-sized Global Player

Business
Automotive

Employees
1.500

Project Period
August 2015-February 2016

Project

  • Outsourcing of the complete IT infrastructure (Bechtle)
  • Planning and execution of the migration to Windows 10 (Raynet)

Solution

Dirroci – the 7-step-method

  1. Machine Discovery
  2. Software Inventory
  3. Application Recognition
  4. Application Rationalization
  5. Application OS Collision Detection
  6. Application Collision Remediation
  7. Application Integration Detection

Used Products

  • RayVentory Advanced
  • RayQC Advanced

Conclusion
The cleansing of the software portfolio by 70 % resulted in tremendous savings.

Menu

Unternehmen im Bereich Automotive

„Gemeinsam mit Raynet und Bechtle ist es uns gelungen in sehr kurzer Zeit, unser Softwareportfolio ohne Verluste um 70% zu reduzieren und somit nicht nur enorme Kosteneinsparungen zu erzielen, sondern eine solide Basis für die Migration auf Windows 10 sowie eine zukunftssichere Verwaltung unserer Software zu gewährleisten.“ Mittelständisches Unternehmen im Bereich Automotive

Der Kunde
Als eines der führenden Lieferanten für Komponenten im Fahrzeuginnenraum, agiert unser Referenzkunde international am Markt. Mit rund 1.500 Mitarbeitern zeichnet sich das Unternehmen durch kundenorientierte Service-Zentren und weltweite Produktionsstätten aus.

Die Herausforderung
Als mittelständisches Automotive-Unternehmen mit mehr als 1.500 Arbeitsplätzen sind im Bereich des Application Lifecycle Managements viele Herausforderungen gegeben, vor allem wenn IT-Infrastrukturen über Jahre hinweg wachsen. Im Laufe der Jahre entstehen sehr eigenständige und heterogene Strukturen, dessen Überschaubarkeit Hürden birgt. Diese zu verwalten und aufrecht zu erhalten bedarf vieler interner Ressourcen.

Aus diesem Grund hat sich das Unternehmen entschieden diesen verantwortungsvollen Gesamtservice an unseren Partner Bechtle auszulagern. In diesem Zuge stand es sehr nahe die Migration auf Windows 10 ins Auge zu fassen. Zur Planung und Durchführung des Migrationsprojektes wurden wir als zuverlässiger Unternehmen hinzugezogen.

Um die Migration nicht unerwarteten Verzögerungen und unvorhersehbaren Kosten auszusetzen, war es wichtig, sich einen Überblick über aller Geräte sowie Anwendungen im Unternehmen zu verschaffen. Zudem stellte sich die Frage, welche der eingesetzten Softwareanwendungen überhaupt für die neue Zielplattform benötigt werden und geeignet sind.

Die Lösung

Mit Raynet´s Kollisions- und Kompatibilitätsmanagement sowie der 7-Schritt-Methode Dirroci wurde nicht nur eine Softwareportfolioanalyse erstellt, sondern auch eine sichere und zuverlässige Bereitstellung von Applikationen auf dem neuen Betriebssystem gewährleistet.

Zuerst galt es sich über aller Geräte sowie Anwendungen im Unternehmen einen Überblick zu verschaffen. In nur zwei Arbeitstagen wurden sowohl Discovery, Inventarisierung und Software Recognition von 1.500 Geräten mittels RayVentory Advanced durchgeführt. Das Ergebnis, welches in einem Gesamtreport mit allen relevanten Informationen zum aktuellen Status zur Verfügung gestellt wurde, ergab 2.000 inventarisierte Softwareanwendungen mit unterschiedlichsten Produktversionen.

In nur weiteren fünf Arbeitstagen wurde gemeinsam mit dem Kunden eine zukünftige Softwarestrategie erarbeitet und festgelegt, sodass eine Rationalisierung von nahezu 70% der Software, welche redundante Versionen, Sprachen und Funktionen waren, erfolgen konnte. Das Resultat der Konsolidierung waren 250 Standard-Softwarepakete, die es jetzt für die Zielplattform zu prüfen galt. Diese Bereinigung hatte zur Folge, dass nur die Anwendungen, die zukünftig auf Windows 10 ausgeführt werden sollen gegen das neue Betriebssystem getestet werden.

Nach der Erweiterung des Gesamtreports um die Strategie und Ausarbeitung für das Zielszenario wurde die Prüfung aller relevanten Softwarepakete vollautomatisch auf Kompatibilität für Windows 10 ebenfalls in fünf Arbeitstagen mit unserer Kollisions- und Kompatibilitätslösung RayQC Advanced durchgeführt.

Schließlich konnten wir uns daraufhin vollständig um die Evaluierung, die Softwarepaketierung und die dazugehörige Qualitätssicherung der rund 250 definierten Softwaretitel für Windows 10 kümmern und für die Verteilung anhand der neuen SCCM-Infrastruktur vorbereiten. Der gesamte Paketierungsprozess erfolgte innerhalb von nur 8 Wochen.

Die Kundenvorteile
Mit dieser Vorgehensweise wurden nicht nur Ressourcen gespart, sondern auch unnötige Aufwände vermieden. Die beträchtliche Rationalisierung von ungenutzter bzw. überflüssiger Software bringt in jeder einzelnen Phase des gesamten Application Lifecycle Managements enorme Kosteneinsparungen mit sich – auch für die Zukunft.

Das Fazit
Dieses Projekt wurde erfolgreich und planmäßig durchgeführt unter Einbindung der Services und Produkte der Raynet. Entscheidend für den Erfolg war ebenso die reibungslose Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Partner Bechtle und dem gemeinsamen Kunden.

Unser Partner
Bechtle GmbH IT-Systemhaus & Managed Services Würzburg. Ein Unternehmen der Bechtle AG.

Projektübersicht

Partnerprojekt

  • Gesamtservice im Application Lifecycle Management
  • Migration auf Windows 10

Endkunde
Mittelständisches weltweites Unternehmen

Branche
Automotive

Mitarbeiter
1.500

Projektzeitraum
August 2015-Februar 2016

Projekt

  • Outsourcing der kompletten IT-Infrastruktur (Bechtle)
  • Planung und Umsetzung zur Migration auf Windows 10 (Raynet)

Lösung

Dirroci – Die 7-Schritt-Methode

  1. Machine Discovery
  2. Software Inventory
  3. Application Recognition
  4. Application Rationalization
  5. Application OS Collision Detection
  6. Application Collision Remediation
  7. Application Integration Detection

Eingesetzte Produkte

  • RayVentory Advanced
  • RayQC Advanced

Ergebnis
Enorme Kosteneinsparung durch Bereinigung des Softwareportfolios um 70 %.

Menü